Launch of the 2022 edition

The Montreal Printed Arts Festival showcases the impressive vitality of the printed arts milieu in Quebec. This third edition is a rare opportunity to take stock of the growth of this artistic practice via a programme of exhibits, artist presentations, demonstrations, workshops, conferences and the Grande Printed Art Fair. These free activities show the eolution of current practices in printed arts as well as hybrid and multidisciplinary practices.

2022 programme

May 18

Nous nous emmêlerons L’Imprimerie Launch

L’imprimerie is pleased to invite you to the launch of the publication nous nous emmêlerons on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at a festive happy hour! This work is the result of the first Chantier, a research project on the printed and photographic image...

May 18

Concordia Queer Print Club Zine workshop

Discover and explore collaborative zine-making with the Queer Print Club (QPC). Demos given on how to create and play with various different types of zines and will cover choosing paper, formatting, creating, editioning, and experimenting within the framework of zines.

May 19 14h

Herbarium Quebecensium BAnQ

Picking, pressing, drying, gluing: come and explore artistic practices in printed arts similar to the making of a herbarium, as well as heritage documents on the subject of botany.

May 18

Chloé Beaulac Impression Marginale conference

Discussion and dialogue over tea! Chloé Beaulac will present her research and creation project Pèlerin-l'inconnu as part of her residency at Zocalo.

May 19

Print Media Undergraduate Pop-Up Exhibit

Check out the works in this pop-up exhibit featuring undergraduate students of the Print Media department at Concordia University.

May 19

Printmaking workshop and demonstrations La Bourgeoise Sérigraphe

Come visit our professional printmaking studio to discover the techniques of screen-printing, relief and intaglio. You will be able to ask us everything...

May 20 - 21

Roots and Wings Anna Jane McIntyre

Roots & Wings is a special project by Montreal artist Anna Jane McIntyre, featuring a flock of relief-printed birds that fly across the window of the FAIMTL / Grande venue ...

May 20

Labour of Love

Labour of Love

Roundtable discussion about labor and capitalism in print art.

May 20 15:30 - 17h

À L'Affiche

À l’affiche – Nadège Grebmeier Forget

The artist and the production team of the works invite you to a presentation retracing the experience of the 2021 edition of À l'Affiche, a contemporary art publishing initiative jointly developed by Arprim and the School of Visual and Media Arts at UQAM.

May 5 - June 2

Foire à l'oeuvre

La Foire à l’œuvre

May 20

Stencil screenprint workshop with Jacinthe Loranger

Come and learn the basics of transferring images onto fabric or paper with a contemporary artist specializing in printmaking. You will make your own stencils and monotypes in addition to learning how to make your own screenprinting silk.

May 20

Cut paper stencil printing workshop Anna Jane McIntyre

Join artist Anna Jane McIntyre for an active demo of cut-paper stencil printing.

May 21

Special Project Rotten Candy

Rotten Candy is a DIY transmission broadcasting the shifting state of underground scenes due to lack of space and gentrification. It’s bittersweet; sending out the alarm for resurgence while artists continue to make it happen and have fun under pressured circumstances.

May 3 - 29

Ephemeral group exhibit

Tête-à-Tête Exhibit

An ephemeral group exhibit that brings together four duos of artists in four public spaces in Longueuil.

May 21

Ex Libris members exhibit

Ex-Libris Atelier Circulaire members exhibit

Ex-Libris is a Latin word referring to the owner's imprint pasted on the inside cover of a book. In Europe, Ex-Libris imprints became very popular in the early days of printing. The Ex-Libris often took the form of a stamp that includes the owner's name.

May 22

Silkscreen printing demonstration and workshop at Le Temple

Le Temple, an artists' studio primarily dedicated to silkscreen printmaking, is holding an open-door printmaking demonstration and workshop.

May 28 - June 18

ARPRIM

Première impression ARPRIM First Impressions

First impressions, exhibit of finalists for the Prix Albert-Dumouchel for young artists.

May 13 - 23

All Conceivable Sources FOFA Concordia

MFA print media graduate exhibit

May 14

Atelier A. Piroir

Normand Biron A. Piroir

Launch of Normand Biron's book and an exhibit developed from works he has chosen from the collection of the studio, including the artists Bonnie Baxter, Louis-Pierre Bougie, Paul Cloutier, Albert Dumouchel, Marc Garneau, Betty Goodwin, John Heward...

May 17

Henriette Valium exhibit guided tour

Guided tour of Henriette Valium's exhibition in the presence of two long-time collaborators of the artist, Marc Tessier and Louis Rastelli.

May 17

Collage Collaboration and Risograph at CEP

In this workshop led by CEP Risograph Coordinator Jessica Bebenek, we will create collaged posters to print palimpsesticly on the risograph. Bebenek will give a short history of risograph printing traditions and demonstrate the fundamentals of the printing process...

May 13 mai 17h-19h

Workshop

Participatory workshop for intaglio and lithography

Atelier Circulaire will open its doors to the general public for a 5 à 7 devoted to the discovery of two little-known printing techniques: intaglio and lithography. In the magnificent space of the Atelier, equipped with unique equipment of exceptional quality, visitors will be able to ...

May 14

Artexte Guided Visit

Artexte Collections Guided Visit

Discover the Artexte collection with Jessica Hébert [Librarian] and Jonathan Lachance [Documentation Technician], and the many forms of printed art that can be found in its stacks. Artists’ books of all kinds, fanzines, posters and more to be displayed.

May 21 2022

Grande Fair

GRANDE Print art fair 2022

The GRANDE Printed Art Fair brings together more than 50 artists and organizations who present their works directly to the public.

Édition 2022

Le Festival des arts imprimés de Montréal (FAIMTL) propose de montrer la vivacité impressionnante du milieu des arts imprimés au Québec. La troisième édition de ce festival représente une rare occasion de survoler ce secteur en fort croissance avec un programme d’expositions, rencontres avec des artistes, portes ouvertes, démonstrations techniques, conférences, rassemblements ainsi qu’une Grande Foire d’art imprimé. Tout ces activités gratuites vous permettent de découvrir l’évolution des pratiques en arts imprimés, de plus en plus multidisciplinaires et hybrides.

Programmation 2022

18 mai

Lancement Nous nous emmêlerons L’Imprimerie

L’imprimerie a le plaisir de vous convier en atelier au lancement de la publication nous nous emmêlerons, le mercredi 18 mai 2022 à l’occasion d’un 5 à 7 festif! Cet ouvrage est issu du premier Chantier de recherche sur l’image imprimée et photographique ...

18 mai

Concordia Queer Print Club atelier de fanzine et lancement

Découvrez et explorez la fabrication de fanzines collaboratif avec le Queer Print Club (QPC). Des démonstrations sont données sur la façon de créer et de jouer avec différents types de fanzines et couvriront le choix du papier, les formats, la création et l'expérimentation dans le cadre des zines.

19 mai 14h

Herbarium Quebecensium BAnQ

Cueillir, presser, sécher, coller : venez explorer des pratiques artistiques en arts imprimés s’apparentant à la confection d’herbier, ainsi que des documents patrimoniaux sur le thème de la botanique.

18 mai

Chloé Beaulac conférence Impression Marginale

Période d’échanges et de discussions autour d’un thé. Chloé Beaulac présentera dans le cadre de sa résidence à Zocalo son projet de recherche et de création Pèlerin-l’inconnu.

19 mai 14h - 18h

Atelier et démonstrations La Bourgeoise Sérigraphe

Venez visiter notre atelier pour découvrir les techniques de gravure de la sérigraphie, du relief et de la taille-douce. Vous pourrez nous demander tout ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir...

20-21 mai

Roots and Wings Anna Jane McIntyre

Roots & Wings est un projet spécial de l'artiste montréalaise Anna Jane McIntyre, mettant en vedette une volée d'oiseaux imprimés en relief qui volent à travers la fenêtre du local du FAIMTL.

20 mai

Création de richesse - Labour of Love

Création de richesse – Labour of Love

Discussion table ronde au sujet du travail et du capitalisme dans l'art imprimé.

20 mai 15:30 - 17h

À L'Affiche

À l’affiche – Nadège Grebmeier Forget

L’artiste et l’équipe de production des œuvres vous convie à une présentation retraçant l’expérience de l’édition 2021 d’À l’affiche, une initiative d’édition en art actuel développée conjointement par Arprim, centre d’essai en art imprimé et l’École des arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM.

20 mai

Atelier de Sérigraphie au pochoir simple avec Jacinthe Loranger

Venez apprendre les rudiments du transfert d’images sur tissu ou papier avec une artiste contemporaine spécialisée en arts d’impression. Vous réaliserez vos propres pochoirs et monotypes en plus d’apprendre comment fabriquer une soie à sérigraphie soi-même.

20 mai

Atelier d’impression au pochoir à papier coupé Anna Jane McIntyre

Rejoignez l'artiste Anna Jane McIntyre pour une démonstration d'impression au pochoir à papier coupé.

21 mai 2022

Grande Foire

La GRANDE Foire d’art imprimé 2022

La GRANDE Foire d’art imprimé rassemble plus de 50 artistes et organismes qui vous présentent directement leurs œuvres.

21 mai

Projet Spécial Rotten Candy

Rotten Candy est une transmission DIY diffusant l'état changeant des scènes underground en raison du manque d'espace et de la gentrification. C'est doux-amer; envoyer l'alarme pour la résurgence tandis que les artistes continuent à y arriver et s'amusent dans des circonstances sous pression.

3 mai - 29 mai

Exposition collective et éphémère

Exposition Tête-à-Tête

Une exposition collective et éphémère qui réunit quatre duos d’artistes dans quatre lieux publics à Longueuil.

22 mai

Démonstration et atelier de sérigraphie au Temple

Le Temple, atelier d'artistes principalement dédié à la sérigraphie, organise une démonstration et un atelier de sérigraphie à portes ouvertes.

14 mai

Atelier A. Piroir

Normand Biron A. Piroir

Vernissage d’une exposition dont Normand Biron a été le commissaire, à partir d’oeuvres qu’il a choisies dans les archives de l’atelier, incluant les artistes Bonnie Baxter, Louis-Pierre Bougie, Paul Cloutier, Albert Dumouchel, Marc Garneau, Betty Goodwin, John Heward...

13 - 23 mai

All Conceivable Sources FOFA Concordia

exposition des étudiants à la maîtrise en art imprimé

17 mai

Henriette Valium visite guidée exposition

Visite guidéé de l'exposition de Henriette Valium en présence de deux collaborateurs de longue date de l'artiste, Marc Tessier et Louis Rastelli.

17 mai

Collage Collaboration et Risograph au CEP

Dans cet atelier dirigé par la coordonnatrice du risographe du CEP, Jessica Bebenek, nous créerons des affiches collées à imprimer en palimpseste sur le risographe.

21 mai

Ex Libris exposition des membres

Ex-Libris Exposition des membres Atelier Circulaire

Ex-Libris est une expression latine désignant une vignette artistique collée à l’intérieur d’un livre. En Europe, l’ex-libris est devenu très populaire avec la naissance de l’imprimerie. Cette vignette prenait alors la forme d’une estampe mentionnant le nom du propriétaire de l’ouvrage.

28 mai - 18 juin

ARPRIM

Première impression ARPRIM

Première impression, l’exposition des finalistes du Prix Albert-Dumouchel pour la relève 2022

14 mai

Artexte visite

Artexte Visite des Collections

Découvrez d’abord la collection d’Artexte avec Jessica Hébert [bibliothécaire] et Jonathan Lachance [technicien en documentation], et les nombreuses formes d’arts imprimés que l’on retrouve dans ses rayons.

13 mai 17h - 19h

Démonstration

Démonstrations participatives de gravure – taille douce et la lithographie

L’Atelier Circulaire ouvrira ses portes au grand public pour un 5 à 7 consacré à la découverte de deux techniques d’impression méconnues : la taille douce et la lithographie. Dans le magnifique espace de l’Atelier, doté d’équipements uniques et de qualité exceptionnelle, les visiteurs pourront ainsi...